Eco-judging

One of my favorite things to do when I visit the new Kendall branch of the Houston Public Library is to check out all the cars parked in the spots marked “for environmentally friendly vehicles only.” Last time I was there there was a Ford Focus (24 mpg city), a Chevy HHR (22 mpg city), and a Hyundai Sonata (24 mpg city). Not bad, at least compared to a lot of SUVs, but I’m not sure any of these really qualify as being so above and beyond environmentally friendly that they deserve their own parking spot. And, cruising into my spot in my Prius (48 mpg city), I AM allowed to judge. Previously I’ve seen Tahoes and other guzzlers in those spots. I’m going to start keeping track.

It is interesting to think about how people judge themselves. I’ve seen studies indicating that something like 97% of people say that they are better than average drivers. I think it’s just part of the human psyche to think we are smarter, better, more whatever than the next idiot. Like me, I’m sure I’m at least 70% more qualified to have a rambling, no-purpose, blog than you are. I’m pretty sure I won’t be able to stop judging other people, but maybe I can do a better job of judging others by their positive qualities. And it wouldn’t hurt any of us to look at ourselves a bit more realistically.

Your thoughts?

