Passionate Talks

If you want to watch videos of people who are passionate, there is no place better than TED. What is TED? From their website: “TED is a small nonprofit devoted to Ideas Worth Spreading. It started out (in 1984) as a conference bringing together people from three worlds: Technology, Entertainment, Design.” Don’t for a moment think that those three categories are not all-encompasing. The TED talks are about anything and everything.

It’s fairly expensive to attend their annual conference in person, and you actually have to apply to be in the audience, but all the talks are free to watch from their website. I’ve actually only watched a handful of them, I should make it a point to watch at least one a week. They are inspirational and informative.

My favorite is Dave Eggers talking about 826 Valencia, the creative writing program he started in San Francisco. If you care at all about unique ways to reach out to kids and schools, check it out. If I follow thru with watching one a week, I’ll be sure to share my favorites with you on this blog.

I was so excited when I happened to see (where?when?I don’t remember) that TED was sanctioning regional TED conferences and that TEDx Houston: Expanding Perceptions was going to be held at UH in June.  I found out about it too late to register, but I couldn’t wait to hear/read/see all about it. And then there was nothing. I didn’t see any mention of it in the Chronicle and I didn’t hear about it on TV news, and I never even heard mention of it on KUHF, but SURELY that was just because I wasn’t listening at the right time, right? 

I finally found a synopsis on the blogosphere. Check it out here. Sounds great, doesn’t it?! I am promising myself that I will make every effort to attend if TEDx Houston happens again. I also love how Choolooloonks quotes the best thing that each speaker said. Note to self: carry a notepad with you and don’t be afraid to use it.

Your thoughts?

