Good Advice, Bad Advice

The daughters will be home for the Thanksgiving holiday. I’m going to have to start watching what I say…

When did they start listening? It’s so weird. You go through all those middle school and high school years trying to give them positive suggestions and sage advice. You  know they don’t care, they aren’t listening, they think you can’t possibly have anything relevant to say about their lives. But, it’s your job as a parent. You try to keep them on track to a good life while trying to keep all the tracks to all the good lives viable for them. After awhile, you don’t really know what you’re saying, you just keep spouting advice because it’s what you’re supposed to do and they aren’t paying any attention anyway. Then one day….

You realize that they are listening. They read the book you raved about and loved it. They went to their advisor and asked the question you had asked them. They signed up for a course you had casually suggested they look into. They follow through with all kinds of stuff that they would have blown off four years ago. Whoa, pretty heady stuff for a parent.

So I’m feeling pretty good about myself as a parent. I’ll feel even better after I get a couple of daughter hugs next week. I’ll just need to choose  my words a bit more carefully now that I know they are listening.

Your thoughts?

