Haikubes

Bought this cool thing from the bookstore for the family myself for Christmas and I’ve finally gotten around to playing with it. It’s called Haikubes. It’s a box of 63 cubes with words on the sides to use to make haiku. Everyone in the family independently noticed it at the store and said, “oh, this is so cool!” So I had to buy it, even if I’m the only one to play with it so far. It’s a bit like magnetic poetry, but with better packaging. Two of the cubes have phrases that are used to set the tone and direction of the haiku (if you want). All you have to do is play with the words until you have the classic three lines that contain 5, 7, 5 syllables. Yes, the intent is to have the final result be somewhat coherent. The cubes are a bit cumbersome to roll out, because there are so many of them, and I have found the haiku making to be surprisingly difficult yet sufficiently satisfying. So, without further ado, here is today’s haikube, with the theme cubes reading a vision for my childhood.

me as gleeful girl

every heart opens for love

inside my swell home

And no, the words are not all sweetness and light, there is definitely potential for snarky haiku. I promise I’ll share some of those, too.

5 thoughts on “Haikubes

  1. Magnetic poetry first word drawn: champagne, so a haiku on drunkenness from other tiles drawn:

    Fresh champagne drunk grace
    Measure magic liquid stream
    Poison idle tale.

  2. Pingback: Out of Pocket « Thoughts from the back

  3. Pingback: Hooray for Rain! « Thoughts from the back

Your thoughts?

