Blue Willow Be Bloggin’

No thanks to me, Blue Willow is finally putting a confident foot forward into the social media circus. Our new Blue Willow Bookshop Blog is up and running! I’ve also put the link over there on my sites that spark my thoughts. The old website is still taking up space on the web, and you’ll need to go there for timely Blue Willow event info, but the blog is fresh and fun and a new website is coming….sometime….so they promise…..zzzzzzzzz. The blog, aka More Letters From the Messy Desk, is going to focus on cooking/cookbooks in Crumbs in Our Pages, community/good deeds (because we are THE community bookstore of West Houston), and all kinds of odds and ends that we are calling The Back Flap. I’d like to see us echo info on the website and ebanter newsletter, but in a longer and more personal style on the blog, though I don’t think that’s going to be the focus for now.

Twitter and Facebook are becoming more important to Blue Willow marketing, too. Now, it’s not that I don’t “get” Facebook and Twitter – though I admit it took me awhile to come around to the fact that it really does reach people – it’s just that personally I don’t really care. And it is hard for me to separate my private persona from my BWB employee persona. In fact, for me it is downright impossible; so I have to admit that my BWB employee persona really doesn’t care one whit about Twitter and Facebook. Fortunately, not everyone on staff is so stubborn.

And one more step into the digital world: with the partnership between Google and the ABA, we are now able to sell ebooks through our website. (Which will all be much clearer in the new website….if it ever comes….like they’ve promised…..zzzzzzz) Not that we think ebooks are going to be a huge chunk of our business in the forseeable future, but at least it CAN be business for us. So the girlboss is doing a great job of trying to keep up with the Joneses, while still leading the way in her own model of a successful indie bookstore.

So there’s a lot going on at the Willow these days.  Here’s hoping that it’s fun to be a customer/follower/fan  of Blue Willow, because it sure is fun working there.

Your thoughts?

