Not Quite What I Was Expecting

Daughter #2 was complaining today that Thoughts From The Back hadn’t been updated in a while. SHEESH!

The aforementioned daughter is napping right now, so I’m taking a bit of a stress break and blogging. And updating all of you at once. I know I haven’t shared my bloggingness with everyone; if there is someone who you know is interested in this saga, but who wouldn’t know to look for updates here, please feel free to share. No, this was not all staged as a publicity stunt to increase my readership.

I’m pretty sure all of my loyal readers were either present or have heard about Daughter #2’s knee injury. Skiing at Sunshine Village near Banff, Alberta, Canada. Fell. ACL held long enough to pull off the top of the right tibia, then completely detached from the bone, but did not tear. (ACL = anterior cruc….. ligament, to the one who was asking.) So the surgeon screwed the bigger than expected piece of the bone back on and then reattached the ACL, but did not need to rebuild the ACL with tendons from another part of the leg, which is what is usually done with an ACL injury. D#2 always likes to be a little bit different.

SO…now the two of us, best friends forever, are hanging out together at her apartment in St. Lu. I am sure her roomies are thrilled with the arrangement, but I’m trying to at least do all the dishes and take the trash out. And no one has complained about me snoring on the couch yet. D#2 is getting better and stronger every day, but there are moments when I’m not sure she’ll really be able to take care of herself and get thru this semester. She’s turning on all her bravery and determination and stubbornness, tho, so I also wouldn’t be willing to bet against her.

Spent today working thru the university system for healthcare and transportation around campus. She’s been in touch with most all her profs, but she is trying to get her head around prioritizing her classes and what she thinks she will realistically be able to handle. Student Health is working on setting up an appointment for her with an orthopedic surgeon type for Friday, when she has no classes and before I (hope to) leave for Houston. Should know about that tomorrow morning.

Still on tonight’s schedule is the initial unbandaging, a thorough sponge bath, and a mom-assisted shampoo. Sounds like a mashup between E.R and Lucy-and-Ethel moments.

Please forgive if there are more typos than usual, I’m on an APPLE and a LAPTOP and too lazy to go back and correct mistakes.

And the title of this post? I was expecting to come back from vacation with lots of posts ideas about nature and winter and skiing and mountains. Instead? Knees and healthcare systems and parenting and resiliency and…well I guess you’ll just have to wait and see.

2 thoughts on “Not Quite What I Was Expecting

  1. I’ve gotta say, if I had to blow out my knee while on vacation, you would be a good person to have around to be helpful!

    Hope D#2 continues to heal well. Thinking of y’all!

  2. Glad to read this update! Hope to try to reach you before the end of the week. Thinking of you; hoping all goes well in getting Ellen settled there.

Your thoughts?

