Back in H-town

So today the husband asked, “When are you going to start blogging again, about something other than the knee?” Sheesh!

The answer is, not quite yet, as it is time for another update on d#2 and the knee saga. She is doing well, although it was hard on her when the big sister left for West Lafayette this afternoon. I think she’s slightly terrified by the prospect of the week ahead with a full class load (minus Poetry Writing which she wisely dropped), two summer job interviews, and a return visit to the orthopedic doctor. Daunting to anyone, not to mention someone on crutches needing to rely on lots of others for help. But as her new nickname is “Brave Ellen” I know she can do it! Send brave thoughts her way.

As for me, it’s good to be back in H-town, though my thoughts are muchly in St. Louis. Amazing how the bookstore thrives without me, but all the same, everyone looked happy to see me there on Saturday when I at least made a dent in the piles. Rball will be good for the body and soul, yoga might have to wait another week due to houseguests and random catching-up. I’ve even missed blogging; it’s  good to get back to some regular writing therapy sessions in my personal-public-online journal.

I have learned something about myself thru this experience. I am not much of a multitasker. Yes, in everyday life I may be able to juggle a few balls, but when I’m running in crisis mode, I really can’t think about much else. I haven’t decided if that is a good thing or a bad thing. So it’s time to pick back up the pieces of the rest of my life, but d#2 knows that I’ll drop them in an instant if she needs me again.

3 thoughts on “Back in H-town

  1. It is a wise juggler who knows when to drop the less important balls. They’ll always be there ready to be picked up again, no harm, no foul.

Your thoughts?

