Reading Challenge Update

Last day of August, last day of the TFTB Reading Challenge. How did y’all do – anybody finish? I completed 8/10 tasks; here’s how I did it:

1. Baseball Season – Read a book with the name of a major league baseball team in the title. I read The Angel Factory by Terrence Blacker. It was a decent YA read about aliens who have come to earth as angels to save humanity from itself.

2. July 14 is Bastille Day – Read a book set in France of written by a French author. I read The Scarlet Pimpernel by Baroness Emmuska Orczy. I enjoyed this classic set during the French Revolution with a mysterious adventurer who secrets French aristocrats to safety in England.

3. May, June, July, August. Read a book with one of these words in the title, or having a character with one of these names. I am reading Light in August by William Faulkner. I’ve never read Faulkner before and now I want to read everything he’s written. I won’t finish in time for this challenge, but I am loving his writing.

4.Longest Day of the Year – Read a book with at least 500 pages. I read Eona by Alison Goodman. This YA sequel was full of action, not quite as good as the first one, but still a fine conclusion to the story.

5. Summer Blockbusters – Read a book that has been made into a movie. I read Ken Kesey’s One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest.  Powerful stuff.

6. May 9 is Lost Sock Memorial Day – Read a book about something that is lost, or has a picture of something commonly lost on the cover. I read What Alice Forgot by Liane Moriarty. Alice loses her memory in this book that was my favorite, light, summer read of the season.

7. June 25 is Log Cabin Day – Read a book set during the lifetime of Abraham Lincoln. Or not – I didn’t get to this task.

8. August 10 is National S’mores Day – Read s’more by an author you’ve read before. I read Secrets at Sea by Richard Peck. A fanciful children’s story about a family of mice at sea. Peck just never misses his intended mark.

9. July is National Blueberry Month – Read a book with a blue cover or the word blue in the title. I read The Art of Fielding by Chad Harbach. My favorite book of the Challenge.

10. Back to school sales tax holiday – Read a book that you didn’t have to pay sales tax to obtain. I read Midnight Palace by Carlos Ruiz Zafron, borrowed from the ARC shelves at the bookstore. I really enjoyed this mysterious, magical YA novel.

I chose 4 of the books expressly for the challenge, the rest I would have picked up anyway.

If you want to play along, I’ll post the next challenge on September 1. You’ll have until the end of December to complete it.

 

3 thoughts on “Reading Challenge Update

Your thoughts?

