Back to Thinking Thoughts

Books, Beer, and Baseball. Too many thoughts to share in my personal, albeit public, online journal to stay away any longer. Let’s start out with BOOKS, shall we?

It is April 30th – the end of the month and, more importantly, the end of the first trimester reading challenge. Time for the final tally, here’s how I did:

1. Read a book set south of the equator. I’m working on Dirt Music by Tim Winton, but I won’t finish it tonight.
2. Read a western. Lonesome Dove by Larry McMurtry (slog, slog, slog – tho I’ll still give it 3/5 stars)
3. Read a book that contains a synonym for leap in the title or author’s name. Fail.
4. Read a book published during this challenge period. The Beginner’s Goodbye by Anne Tyler. Loved it!
5. Read a book that is a #1, #2, #3, or #4 of a series. Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers (My Fair Assassin Book 1). A great new YA series, I gave it 5 stars on Goodreads.
6. Read a book about a dragon or with the word dragon in the title. Fail.
7. Read a book with a weather word in the title. The Gathering Storm by Robin Bridges. Another new YA voice, 4/5 stars.
8. Read a book older than me (pre-1959). The Sound and the Fury by William Faulkner.
9. Read a book with a green cover. And drink a green beer, too. The Good Thief by Hannah Tinti. I put green sprinkles in my beer –  that counts, right? 4/5 stars.
10. Read a book that has won an award or been recommended by theALA.  Dead End in Norvelt by Jack Gantos (2012 Newbery winner) 4/5 stars, but it has stuck with me longer than I would have suspected.

So I completed 7 of the 10 tasks. I had high hopes for this challenge back in January, but even though I didn’t finish, I would still consider it a successful reading season. I would heartily recommend every book I did finish, to the right person of course.

Do we have any winners out there? Anyone complete all 10 tasks? Anyone up for another round of the challenge this summer? I’m working on the challenge tasks now, should have them posted within the week. I’m open to suggestions, please feel free to send me any ideas you have for a task (perhaps something that would work for that book you’re about to start reading).

2 thoughts on “Back to Thinking Thoughts

  1. I only finished 5 this challenge. A slow reading trimester for sure. I blame my sister.

    How about a book with a red, white, or blue color for fourth of july?

    • And I thought you were going to finish this time. I don’t know why you blame your sister, but it sounds like a good excuse, I think I’ll blame her, too! I think I found a more interesting 4th of July task, but thanks for the suggestion!

Your thoughts?

