Reading Challenge Update

August is fast coming to a close, but I am happy to report that I have completed the current Reading Challenge. Since the last update, I have read the following books:

For Task #3, June 15 is Smile Power Day, I read Team Cul-de-Sac edited by Chris Sparks. Some of the world’s top cartoonists and illustrators donated artwork for this book which is a tribute to Richard Thompson, the creator of  the Cul-de-Sac comic strip. Thompson has been diagnosed with Parkinson’s disease, and the proceeds from an auction of the original artwork and sales of the book are going to the Michael J Fox Foundation for Parkinson’s Research.

For Task #1, May 4 is National Candied Orange Peel Day, I read The Reservoir by John Miliken Thompson. It is a fictional account of a crime and trial that was a huge social sensation in Richmond, Virginia in 1885. A pregnant woman was found floating in the city reservoir and a young lawyer was accused of the murder. Nicely done by the author with a surprisingly timeless feel to it.

I switched Trail of the Spellmans to the Father’s Day Task (#4) because, really, I’m sure my dad would have loved the Spellman books as much as I do.

For Task #8, August 9 is Book Lover’s Day, I read In the Shadow of the Banyan by Vaddey Ratner. This book was hard to get into, but well worth persevering on to the end. This novel is based on the author’s own experiences in surviving the Khmer Rouge takeover of Cambodia in the late 1970s. Family, survival, love, grief, cruelty, and a young girl trying to make sense of her world turned upside down, no, more like shattered.

I actually have a prize in mind for anyone else who completes the challenge, but you have to send me your list by August 31.

The Third Trimester Thoughts From the Back Reading Challenge 2012 Edition (TTTFTBRCv.2012) is being compiled and will be posted on or near September 1. Task suggestions are welcome.

On a not so positive note, I have read 24 books in 2012, which puts me 9 books behind schedule towards my Goodreads goal of reading 52 books this year. I have quite a few kids books on my current must-read pile, so I’m hoping to make up some ground in the next month or so.

2 thoughts on “Reading Challenge Update

  1. I finished the challenge!

    1. Percy Jackson and the Battle of the Labyrinth by Rick Riordan
    2. Moneyball by Michael Lewis
    3. Bossypants by Tina Fey
    4. Isaac’s Storm by Erik Larson (Dad, you really ought to read it)
    5. I’m a Stranger Here Myself by Bill Bryson
    6. Percy Jackson and the Last Olympian by Rick Riordan
    7. Freakonomics by Steven Levitt and Stephen Dubner
    8. Squirrel Seeks Chipmunk by David Sedaris
    9. American Dervish by Ayad Akhtar
    10. The Magicians by Lev Grossman

    Of those, my favorite was probably The Magicians, with Isaac’s Storm being a close second. Looking forward to the next challenge!

Your thoughts?

