The Great B & B Road Trip of 2013

Husband and I are in final preparation for the Great B & B Road Trip of 2013. Beer and Baseball, two of our shared passions, take center stage in this two week plus road trip. If any of you bothered to read my “About Me” page, I always intended for Thoughts From the Back to be my personal, albeit public, journal. I hoped blogging would help me to be a little more consistent than past attempts at keeping a journal. All I can say to that is that this electronic blog remains in existence, where all previous paper editions of journals or diaries have been trashed, burned, recycled, or lost. So I guess this is an improvement. Now we are about to see how this e-journal experiment works as a travel journal.

What’s this B & B Road Trip all about? There are several goals for this trip.

142

142 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Primary Goal: Visit the Baseball Hall of Fame in Cooperstown, NY. I’ve been a  baseball fan for forever and a visit to the Hall of Fame has been someplace I’ve wanted to visit for almost that long. About a year ago, when the husband asked me for the umpteenth time if I wanted to go to Iceland and I replied for the umpteenth time that I wanted to go to Cooperstown, he finally broke down and started planning the trip. Now, the husband also likes baseball, but he REALLY likes beer so we added the second B to the road trip. But it all started with Cooperstown. When I see Billy Williams’ plaque, my pilgrimage will be complete.

Secondary Goals: As much baseball and beer as can be squeezed in. Currently on the schedule are 10 minor league baseball games, 7 Flying Saucers (our favorite beer bar, which happens to have multiple locations – we hate to call it a chain), and one brewery tour, Ommegang, which also happens to be in Cooperstown.

Tertiary Goals: The return trip is routed to maximize some family visiting with the side benefit of some free lodging.

Quaternary Goals: One goal is to complete one dishcloth in each of the 12 different patterns in the book I received as a Christmas gift. More on the relevance of this to the road trip later. Another goal is to not gain any weight. This might be difficult since my diet will consist almost exclusively of hotel breakfasts, beer, and stadium hotdogs. But I’m taking my yoga mat and some workout clothes.

I’d like to add that this trip is possible due to Daughter #2 who has graciously agreed to both dog and house sit. Yet another reason I’m glad I made the choice to not kill her that night when she was 3 months old.

Husband and I are really looking forward to this trip, hoping for plenty of adventures, laughter, shared happinesses, and lots of that comfortable silence that comes so easy in a car with a spouse of 29 years. If you care to follow along with our travels, Cary will be posting on Facebook, I’ll be blogging here and, now that I figured out how to tweet from my dumb phone, you can follow us on Twitter @ndrott and @carydd . If not, we’ll see you on the other side.

5 thoughts on “The Great B & B Road Trip of 2013

  1. Wow! When do you leave? I’m on my own little B&B adventure here in Delhi. Instead of taking an apartment or a small house, I decided to just get a room in a B&B for 4-6 months. It’s perfect so far, but Bi arrives in a week for a month and the room may get small… I’m really looking forward to reading about your much more exciting version of B&B as it progresses.

  2. I may have to get on Twitter just for this, if Cary can’t hold up the Facebook posts to my standards. Have a great B & B trip and can’t wait to hear more about it. I’ve been to Cooperstown!

Your thoughts?

