Emeritusment

Tomorrow is the first day of the rest of my life.

Tomorrow is the first day that I will not be working at the bookstore on a day that I would otherwise be working at the bookstore. I decided last fall that it was getting to be time to move on, to do something (or nothing) different. I was calling it retirement, but I realized that I’m not actually retiring, I am becoming an employee emeritus of the bookstore. I can still hang out there, it’s my neighborhood bookstore. They may even want me to hang around and help out every once in a while. I just won’t be on the schedule…or paid. Not surprisingly, those who know me best (the daughters and the husband) just said, “Oh, OK” when I told them. But for everyone else, here’s the FAQ.

Why? Why not? Some new blood will be good for the store, I’ve gotten pretty set in my ways of doing things. We’ve all been in a situation where we thought we or someone else was indispensable. And then they were dispensed. And then everything was fine. I’m glad to have felt needed and appreciated for the past 12(?!) years, but I’m not leaving anybody in the lurch.

Won’t I get bored? I don’t think it’s possible. I like to say that one of my emeritusment goals is to test my boredom threshold. I’m sure when I was a kid I must’ve wailed to my parents, “I’m bored,” but I can’t remember the last time I thought that to myself. I might get antsy, I might wish I had some goals, but I can do a whole lot of nothing.

What will I do? See above.

No, really? I just want to have my own schedule. Or at least just and me and the husband’s schedule. Since graduating from college I have always had to consider someone else’s schedule, mainly either my employers’ or my kids’. Yes, if I live to be 100 I may wish I had stayed scheduled a bit longer, but you never know what the future might bring, or how soon. I want the right to be spontaneous, even if I don’t exercise it.

Won’t you miss the paychecks? No comment. Though losing the employee discount might prove a bigger hit on the budget.

Won’t you miss the people? Of course!! Well, the ones I work with, not so much the customers (with a few exceptions). But it’s not like I’m moving to …. anywhere.

And a few other, random benefits of emeritusing: don’t need to shop for new work clothes (that situation was getting desperate); a chance to try some new yoga classes; not that there wasn’t time before, but more time for reading, blogging, knitting; and just maybe I’ll find the impetus to eat right, cook more, and generally look after my own health.

Is this making the husband consider his own schedule? Naw. I’ve already told him he can retire when he’s 72. Or if I get bored, whichever comes first.

 

5 thoughts on “Emeritusment

  1. Dear Brat,

    Congratulations and many blessings on your Emeritushoodship or -ment. I feel like I have finally done something before you did (you were married first, bought a house first, had a daughter marry first) which entitles me in my eminent wisdom to tell you that you will love your new status. Since I ‘retired’ to this hallowed state, I have: struggled with scheduling my days, struggled with my procrastination, struggled to feel I was making a difference in the world… But I have also so loved the freedom to be spontaneous, even if I didn’t take myself up on it often enough. And, of course, I now find myself actually working a ‘real job’ again, though disguised as a consultancy. While I love being back in the fray and action and high stroke space, I can finally say with no reservation that my earlier decision to retire was the right one.

    Now, when are you coming for a visit????!!! We can hang out and procrastinate together….

    Much love. Carol

Your thoughts?

