Not bored yet

I have survived week one of emeritusment.

That means I have had 10-15 more hours to spend on productive pursuits…like Pinterest. To let you know just how productive that is, I have a board where I pin recipes that I want to try. I also have a board where I pin recipes that I have successfully tried and would like to make again. The first recipe board has 94 pins, the second has 5. Also have 34 pins on a craft and DIY board and 32 on witticisms (quotes I like).

But here is the best thing I have ever gotten off of Pinterest:

hanger

You know those really cheap hangars that come with pants or skirts that you always mean to leave at the register but sometimes bring home? With a few quick snaps, one hanger turns into two (2!) chip clips. Now the hanger in the picture is a slightly higher quality with actual closet usefulness because I turned all my cheap ones into chip clips. I know I made at least 6 chip clips, but I could only find one for the picture. Which is further proof why this is so brilliant. I’ll be sure to post any comparable pinterest discoveries here.

I also finished a great book, The Magician King  by Lev Grossman. This is the sequel to The Magicians which we listened to on our B&B Road Trip. I liked the second one better than the first, which is unusual for me in the world of series and sequels. The series is about a group of kids who attend a magic school for college. Despite what it sounds like, this is much more than Harry Potter for grownups. Actually, Grossman references Harry Potter directly several times in the book, and although parts of his works are also reminiscent of Tolkein, Narnia and other fantasy classics (even a brief nod to my personal favorite The Phantom Tollbooth), Grossman has created a unique blend of fantasy and earth-as-we-know-it. In the first book, the mainest character, Quentin, spends a lot of time being a whiny teenager, caught in between childhood and adulthood. In this sequel, the kids are all out of school having grand adventures. It’s not that Quentin has it all figured out yet, but he is much more mature and likable.

Grossman is the book critic for Time magazine and the man can write. It’s not that every sentence is beautiful or that his writing could be described as lyrical, it’s more like he has a way with words. While listening to The Magicians, husband and I would often look at each other wordlessly saying, “That was a great line.” I think I enjoyed the experience of reading more than that of listening. The books are a great blend of character (but not over done) and plot (but not non-stop action). His fantasy world isn’t as completely realized as Tolkein’s Middle Earth and the ties to our own world and popular culture are much stronger than in Harry Potter. He isn’t trying to be any other writer than himself. Here’s one of the passages I marked:

Eliot had no idea where he was gong, but he’d read enough to know that a state of relative ignorance wasn’t necessarily a handicap on a quest. It was something your dauntless questing knight accepted and embraced. You lit out into the wilderness at random, and if your state of mind, or maybe it was your soul, was correct, then adventure would find you through the natural course of events. It was like free association – there were no wrong answers. It worked as long as you weren’t trying too hard.

And one more short, especially wise-sounding passage:

That was the thing about the world: it wasn’t that things were harder than you thought they were going to be, it was that they were hard in ways that you didn’t expect.

And that’s a thought I can’t improve upon.

Your thoughts?

