Left Turn

Well, this is definitely not the Friday I was expecting to have. Daughter #1 was supposed to be coming into town on a business trip. She needed to be in Galveston for a few hours this morning and I was going to be her chauffeur so that 1) She didn’t have to hassle with renting a car and 2) I could spend most of the day with her and do a little Galveston exploring on my own and 3) Just because I could. But in the world of business, consulting, and clients, things have a way of changing at a moments notice so I am NOT spending the day with D#1 and visiting Galveston.

What am I doing instead? Baking kale chips. See, Daughter #2 decided it would “fun” to order a box of organic produce from a local co-op this week. Several of my good friends are regulars, one even volunteers her time every week to pack the boxes, but…and this is a big but, they all like to cook. Daughter #2 thinks she would like to cook more. I know that I should eat more healthy foods. So I agreed to share a box of produce with her. I have never had so many green, leafy vegetables in my fridge before. This abundance is compounded by the fact that D#2 has yet to take her half of the stuff back to her apartment.

I knew that kale is a staple in these boxes. I also know that, despite it being a supposed super food, it’s not my favorite member of the green, leafy vegetable family. So I’m turning my half of the kale into kale chips. Basically negating many of the super food qualities of kale by tossing them in olive oil, liberally salting them, and baking them in the oven. Plus I’ve used several gallons of water washing the kale and had my oven on for an hour (3 batches) adding to the Texas electric grid’s near record load on one of the hottest days of the summer. The finished chips are pretty darn tasty, tho, and the kale will at least not end up in my compost bin this way.

Sure hope the husband isn’t expecting to eat anything other than salad for the next few days. Do you suppose that is why he scheduled a business trip next week?

4 thoughts on “Left Turn

    • Ok, I appreciate you trying to make me appreciate kale. I don’t even know what farro or wheat berries are. I don’t think I like fennel any more than kale. I don’t have a mandolin, and am not very patient slicing things transparently thin. I don’t have a food processor. But sure, what the heck, I’ll give it a whirl. Or maybe I’ll just buy some avocados, squeeze lemon or lime juice on them and enjoy.

      • Farro is a chewy grain, kind of like barley but it tastes better. I am horribly impatient at chopping things thinly and it worked out fine. And we used a blender for the salad dressing.

        But I am certainly not going to fault you for just eating avocado with lemon. Because mmm that sounds tasty right now.

  1. Catching up on the blog on my non “business” day of the business trip.
    Kale chips are pretty good as long as all you do is lick the salt off.

Your thoughts?

