B-I-N-G-O Reading Challenge Update

I’ve been working on the Blue Willow Bingo Reading Challenge this summer. Although technically you only need 5 in a row to win, I also technically am not eligible to win so I just decided to see how many challenge tasks I could complete. Technically, I fudged a bit, too. Here’s what I read:

A book you chose because of the cover: Claire of the Sea Light by Edwidge Danticat. Technically, I chose the book because it was written by Danticat, but I do like the cover.

A book by an author you’ve met: Elsewhere by Gabrielle Zevin.

A book from the library: The Magician King by Lev Grossman.

A book that is out of your comfort zone: Goat Mountain by David Vann. Yes, it was.

A book recommended by us (BWB): The Hero’s Guide to Saving Your Kingdom by Christopher Healy.

A book that’s been on your shelf for more than 5 years: The Orchid Thief by Susan Orlean. Technically, it was recommended to me only about 3 years ago, but I needed that square to complete a bingo line. Technically, it could also be a book recommended by a friend.

A book with more than 300 pages: Longbourn by Jo Baker.

A book of poetry: Aimless Love by Billy Collins.

A book with pictures: Great Storms of the Chesapeake by David Healey.

A book by an international author: Burial Rites by Hannah Kent.

A memoir of biography: Wild by Cheryl Strayed.

That’s 11 squares out of a possible 24 (or 12 out of 25 if you count the free center square). On the Goodreads challenge, I’m still 7 books behind schedule – getting tough to imagine reading one a week PLUS an extra seven before the year is out. But, technically, what good is retirement if you can’t make time to work toward some goals?

 

Your thoughts?

