Reading Challenge Update

I feel like I’ve been reading a lot, but dang if I’m not still 7 books behind schedule; I’ve read 33 books towards my 52 books this year goal.

Here’s what I’ve been reading lately, and where the books fit into the One Of Everything Reading Challenge:

Since the beginning of September, I’ve read three books that are considered mysteries. Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn didn’t live up to its hype, but psychological thrillers aren’t really my thing to begin with. I just wanted to be able to join the conversation, which is pretty much over now anyway. The Quick Red Fox is a Travis McGee novel by John D. MacDonald. Y’all already know what I think about Travis McGee. Until I get thru the whole series again, it’s going to be my palate cleanser, the book I read when I’m not sure what I want to read next, or to recover from a slog of a book. And I finally ended my latest delayed gratification exercise by reading the sixth and likely last Spellman book, The Last Word by Lisa Lutz. It was worth the wait. Is there a category for zany mystery? The Spellman Series would define that category. 

I read one memoir/biography, The Road From Coorain by Jill Ker Conway. Conway grew up in the Australian bush country on a sheep ranch and eventually became the president of Smith College, but this volume only takes us thru her undergraduate degree at the University of Sydney. Her childhood was so different from any experiences I’m familiar with, but it was also interesting to read about her feelings about the role of women in society from an Australian, not American, perspective.

I read The 826 Michigan Omnibus, a collection of student work from a tutoring center in Ann Arbor (which I may blog about one of these days). I would probably look for this book in an education section of a bookstore.

The CJ section is taken care of with Atlantis Rising by TA Barron. This is Barron’s take on the Atlantis Myth, but about how Atlantis came about instead of why it disappeared. Interesting premise, but not as strong as his Merlin series. The part of the novel that is sticking with me is reminiscent (in a backwards sort of way) of my previous post about packing the bats and angering the gods. In the novel, Promi is given the gift of listener magic, but to use its power, he has to choose something personal to sacrifice. The stronger the magic needed, the dearer the sacrifice must be.

That’s 4 of 10 tasks completed, at this rate I should be able to go around 4 times. Yeah, right.

Your thoughts?

