December Reading Challenge Update

Who am I kidding? This might as well be the end of year update. I put on a nice little surge since my last update, but it looks like I’ll end the year with 40 books read. Not too shabby, but I think I will have to admit to the impossibility of reading a book a week. I did complete one cycle of the One Of Everything Thoughts from the Back Reading Challenge.  Here’s how I did it, along with short reviews of the books I haven’t told you about yet:

1. Young Adult – In the Age of Love and Chocolate by Gabrielle Zevin. Zevin writes really smart stuff for teens. This book completed the series about a future time during the second prohibition, when chocolate and caffeine are illegal. The first two books were better, but this one wrapped everything up neatly. I’ve got Zevin’s new novel for adults on the top of my to-read pile.

2. Childrens/Middle Grade – Atlantis Rising 

3. Mystery – Gone Girl

4. Science Fiction – Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury. SciFi isn’t my favorite genre, but Bradbury is an amazing writer. I can see why this classic is still required reading. I don’t feel a need to read another novel by Bradbury, but I do think I’d like to tackle some of his short stories.

5. Biography – Road From Coorain

6. Non-fiction – The Bayous of Houston by James Sipes. Interesting, but no great shakes. A little light on content for my taste, but exactly as advertised.

7. Poetry – The Best of It by Kay Ryan. Not my favorite contemporary poet, but readable and approachable. This collection won the Pulitzer and Ryan was the US Poet Laureate from 2008-2010. I think I should try to read a collection by each laureate. (Did you know that the US Poet Laureate post was created in 1986?)

8. Fiction – Blindness

9. History – Descartes’ Bones by Russell Shorto. This was actually very interesting, tracing the history of Descartes’ ideas (and his skeleton) thru the Enlightenment to the present day.

10. Anything Else – 826 Michigan Omnibus (Education)

As I haven’t heard that anyone else has completed (or is even trying) the One of Everything Challenge, I’m going for a second lap. The challenge was very good at getting me out of my favorite genres and into some very interesting and worthwhile books.

 

Your thoughts?

