January Round-Up

Time for the monthly round-up. Of course anyone who has any success in the world of social media does regularly scheduled posts, with the minimum being at least a weekly round-up. Obviously, I’m not about to quit my day job any time soon. Apart from the whole blogging thing, I feel like January has been reasonably productive. Here’s why:

1. We are close to zeroing in on the source and style of whole house new carpeting. It is past time to replace the old, dirty, worn, and ravaged by the thunderphobic dog stuff. I have many fond memories of Loki, I don’t need the torn up carpet to remember her by. Much decluttering still needs to be accomplished before I can face the task of moving everything before the installation.

2. After 3 weeks of refreshingly blank fireplace wall and mantle, I finally got some fabric hung for my current Africa display. I’m hosting bookclub later this month and the book has something to do with an African immigrant so I thought I’d be thematic. Plus I really like this odd collection of items.

mantle

3. Last September I turned the big double nickel. I decided that a fitting goal for being 55 was to run a 5K. Thanks to D#2 showing me the Couch to 5K app for my phone, I was actually able to start jogging. I have never been a runner, maybe I could run about a mile back when I was in high school. C25K definitely takes a slowly but surely approach and on January 25th I actually completed my first 5K race. I jogged every step of the way and finished in just under 43 minutes. There were people who walked the whole thing and finished ahead of me, but by-golly I made it. I have no ambition to run farther, but I would like to eventually be able to run a 5K race in 30 minutes.

4. When I wasn’t jogging in this wonderful Houston outdoor season we call winter, I was knitting this:

shawl2

shawl1

It turned out a little smaller than expected, but I love all the stitch detail. The pattern is called “Geology” because of the different layers. Can’t wait to have it for next summer as a light wrap to toss on over something sleeveless. It was easy enough to do, but the pattern was way too complicated for me to figure out how I could make it a little bigger.

5. When I wasn’t jogging or knitting, the husband and I were playing Pandemic, with and without other people. All together we raised $165 for Doctors Without Borders. Here’s hoping they have a higher success rate against Ebola than we have winning Pandemic.

6. When I wasn’t jogging or knitting or playing Pandemic, I did a little reading. Spool of Blue Thread by Anne Tyler was wonderful, as Anne Tyler books always are. If you haven’t read anything by her, do yourself a favor and pick up any of her novels. Really, any of them. Me Before You by JoJo Moyes was disappointing in that it had so much promise to be something more than just a love story, but fell short. Still, it was a good love story if you like that sort of thing.

And with that, it’s on to February. Happy Groundhogs Day!

One thought on “January Round-Up

  1. That’s so cool -I didn’t know you did all that-you’ve had a very productive month-wish I could be so inspired!!!!

Your thoughts?

