Let the games begin!

Opening Day 2015 has arrived at last and in a few hours I will be heading to downtown Htown to meet the husband at Minute Maid Park to watch the Astros and the Indians PLAY BALL.

There are many important things to be done first however.

The banner is hung:

banner

Proper attire and accessories have been chosen:

attire

And in this year’s offering to the baseball gods, the bobblehead collection has been dispersed about the house as a constant reminder of the need to make offerings and supplications to said gods. Milo will be overseeing the laundry room (prompting me to pray for diving catches and grass stain removal I guess.)

milo

Here is a picture of last year’s crackerjack scarf, which will likely never be worn at an Astros home game, and the beginnings of my multi-year crackerjack stadium blanket:cracker

The scorebook is ready, pencils have been sharpened, rosters have been printed.

I watched my beloved-in-a-past-life Cubbies lose to the Cardinals last night and was reminded of the passing of Mr. Cub, Ernie Banks, during the off-season. In a few weeks, we’ll commence the Great Beer and Baseball Road Trip – Part 2. This time, we’ll be making a pilgrimage to the Negro Leagues Museum in Kansas City, drinking beer and watching minor league games along the way. Though I wasn’t alive when Jackie Robinson was playing, it is still hard for me to believe that some of my childhood heroes, like Ernie, weren’t always allowed to play in the Major Leagues. Thankfully the culture of baseball can change while the game stays the same.

I don’t fault any of you who don’t care. And I admit that I’m being a bit irrational. But it’s Opening Day, the boys are back, this could be the year, it’s a beautiful day for baseball, and (if only) let’s play two!

UPDATE:  I couldn’t figure out how to post a picture in the comments, but this is my original 1970 45 of “Hey Hey! Holy Mackerel!” hey

3 thoughts on “Let the games begin!

Your thoughts?

