Why?

I’ve decided to blow off the dust and start-up the blog again.

It’s been six months since I’ve posted anything, but with the help of some prompting from the fine folks at WordPress, I’ve decided it is time to dive in again.

Before recommitting to this online experiment, they suggested that I ask myself some questions: Why did I start blogging in the first place? Why not just keep a private journal? What would I consider my successes and failures as a blogger so far?

I still hope that Thoughts From The Back will be a way to connect with a small group of readers; family, friends, and the occasional stranger. Originally I thought it would be a good way to let people know how we were faring thru some crisis, like a hurricane, without having to personally check in with everyone. Also, I’m not very good at keeping in touch with people, not very social, not on Facebook (not for any particular reason, just not) and so it is a way for people to at least keep in touch with me, if they want to, a small window out of the cubby-hole that I tend to retreat into.

Also, I do so love words. I love to use them and read them and type them and share them and communicate with them and play games and puzzles with them. I can’t count how many New Year’s Resolutions included some sort of regular writing or journaling or letter writing – and none of those resolutions stuck. The public blog is still satisfying creatively and it makes me just a tad more accountable somehow.

Successes and failures? Plenty of both. I have enjoyed when I’ve used the blog to chronicle a project or a trip. Although perhaps at times wearisome to the readers, it has given me pleasure thru the event and a great way to look back and relive the journeys. Sometimes, still, I just feel like I have something I want to say and the blog has been an outlet. I also like being able to share other great things I’ve found around the web or out in the real world; looking forward I would like to do more of that with this space.

Certainly letting the blog flounder is failure number one. But if you don’t have anything to say…

Maybe I’ll do a better job this time around. Maybe I’ll post more often. Maybe I’ll make the site spiffier and get organized with tags and categories and widgets and photos. Or maybe not.

Here’s to 2016! Let the mind whirl, the fingers twirl, and the thoughts from the back continue.

 

5 thoughts on “Why?

Your thoughts?

