Winter anyone?

Although it didn’t affect me at all, I did keep my eyes on the news about last week’s blizzard, or #DavidSnowie as Slate readers voted to refer to it. On Sunday there was a plethora of social media posts about how wonderful the snow was now that the storm had passed….but I am convinced that is because it was Sunday and most people didn’t have to go or be anywhere. Sunday in Htown there was a clear blue sky and the temperature rose from a low of 35 to a high of 65. Hard to complain about a lack of snow.

I moved away from northern winters in 1983. Texas summers were a bear to get used to, but Texas winters grew on me very quickly. Yes, there is a part of me that misses the dramatic changes between the seasons, and I certainly don’t mind a snowy vacation, but I don’t think I could ever go back to living thru a full Chicago winter. Here’s 10 reasons why:

  1. Driving in snow and ice. It’s unsafe no matter how experienced you are. Sliding out of control, even at slow speed, is a terrifying experience.
  2. Foggy glasses blindness every time you come in from the cold.
  3. The constant overheating, stripping of layers…and I hated this before I was of hot flash age.
  4. Numb toes.
  5. Shoveling. Exercise is one thing, shoveling that wet, heavy snow is heart attack inducing.
  6. Cold, red, runny noses.
  7. Scraping off car windows.
  8. Icy walks. Also known as broken tailbones.
  9. Melting gray slush.
  10. Static-y, limp, straight, hat hair.

So enjoy the snow, my northern friends, and feel free to make a snowman on my behalf. I am happy to live my winter life vicariously thru others. Or in the words of one of my favorite tweeters:

 

3 thoughts on “Winter anyone?

  1. THIS “but I am convinced that is because it was Sunday and most people didn’t have to go or be anywhere.” Exactly this. We shoveled out my car yesterday (Sunday) so that I wouldn’t have to get up early this morning to do it.
    Our plan is to move to San Antonio late this year. God I hope it happens. I’m from Texas. This winter thing sucks!

Your thoughts?

