Simple Pleasures #4

I love going to estate and garage sales. I love the thrill of the hunt and the joy of a found bargain. There were times in my life when I sought them out with a religious fervor, but now I tend to just happen across them, unable to resist the siren song of the neon sign proclaiming “Estate Sale Today” and the black arrow pointing, inevitably, in the direction I was NOT planning to go.

So despite my previous proclamations that I was making headway in decluttering the house, last weekend I came home with this amazing hat box:

hb1I’ve never seen anything like it before! Best of all, it’s not just something to make me happy, it already has a purpose in storing yarn.

hb2

 

4 thoughts on “Simple Pleasures #4

  1. I feel the same way about antique shops, although I can’t afford to actually buy things very often. There’s some really cool, really random stuff tucked away in those places. And naturally, now some of my furniture is actually sturdy and not from IKEA. 🙂

  2. If IKEA had been around when I was furnishing my first apartment, I probably would never have discovered the joy of garage/estate sales. I used to call my decorating style “Early American Garage Sale.” Still have a few treasured pieces from that first home.

Your thoughts?

