I love hashtags

There. I said it. I love hashtags. But how did an old fogey like me come to embrace the hashtag? It wasn’t even that long ago that I became aware that the number or pound sign had another name.

The Caffeinated Writer posted a blog about hashtags and she included a great graphic about all the things that # meant before the days of twitter. (My favorite is “waffle fail.”) She actually goes on to explain the use and value of hashtags in today’s social media world. It made me realize something; I love hashtags, but for all the wrong reasons.

I don’t do facebook or instagram, but I do love twitter and it was the hashtags that helped suck me in. I didn’t really “get” twitter, but I saw things like #sorrynotsorry and #firstworldproblem and I chuckled. Then I realized that you could make up anything you want to be a hashtag. Rather than being a way to follow some trending topics, for me hashtags are best used as a snarky afterthought, a sarcastic aside, a generic footnote; they can be informative or insulting or illuminating. Then I realized how handy they were to throw into text messages, too. They can give a little punch of emotion and context to just a few words; maybe to help alleviate those awkward moments of misunderstanding that often occur when we avoid actually speaking to others. And for my piece de resistance (sorry, I don’t know how to get accent marks on wordpress) all the Christmas gifts I wrapped last year were simply marked with the recipient and a hashtag giving some obtuse clue to what was inside. I’m sure my former English teachers would shudder that I use hashtags instead of spaces between words and complete sentences.

Use hashtags however you want, but make sure you put enough batter in the waffle iron.

And now, allow me to translate the above post into hashtag-ese:

 #<3. But how did I come to embrace the hashtag #geezer? It wasn’t even that long ago that I became aware that the number or pound sign had another name. #thankyoutwitter.

The Caffeinated Writer posted a blog about hashtags #greatgraphic. #canyousaywafflefail. She goes on to explain the use and value of hashtags in today’s social media world. I love hashtags, but for all the wrong reasons #facepalm.

#socialmedialuddite. I didn’t really “get” twitter, but I saw things like #sorrynotsorry and #firstworldproblem. #chuckle. Then I realized that you could make up anything you want to be a hashtag #norules.  Rather than being a way to follow trending topics, for me hashtags are best used as a snarky afterthought, a sarcastic aside, a generic footnote; they can be informative or insulting or illuminating #alliteration. Then I realized how handy they were to throw into text messages, too. They can give a little punch of emotion and context to just a few words #introverttool. And for my piece de resistance #addyourownaccentmarks, all the Christmas gifts I wrapped last year were simply marked with the recipient and #obtuseclue. #englishteachershudder. #sorrynotsorrry.

Use hashtags however you want, but make sure you use enough batter #wafflefail

But don’t #toomuch.

 

One thought on “I love hashtags

  1. This was hilarious! In all honesty, I only use hashtags correctly on Twitter. On Facebook and Instagram, I use them ironically. Example:
    “4 friends on Facebook had babies in the past WEEK.
    3 friends on Facebook are pregnant right now.
    Thankful to have made it out of 2015 with no babies in my belly. ‪#‎imnotreadyforthat‬ ‪#‎fewmoreyears‬ ‪#‎congratsthough‬ ” LOL
    Loved this post, for real. 🙂

Your thoughts?

