Bathroom Refugee

And so it begins.

The great masterbath remodel of 2016 (mbr16) is officially underway. I realize that the title of this post is a #firstworldproblem, and a tad flippant considering humanity’s real refugee crisis, but let us step back from serious real world problems for a bit, for I am now a bathroom refugee. I have had a bathroom attached to my bedroom for my entire adult life. My first condo after college had an en-suite. (Confession: I know this term solely from watching HGTV programs.) Our first starter home had an en-suite. And our current, comfortable family home that we have been in for over 25 years has an en-suite. And now, for the next 3 (ha!) to 6 (hopefully no longer!) weeks, I will be trucking down the hall to a bathroom.

That bit about the 25 years? Therein lies the problem. The bathroom is divided into two parts. Part 1, open to the bedroom, is a dressing area with 2 walk-in closets, comfortably large single-sink vanity, small linen closet with hamper, AND previous owner’s wallpaper with at least 2 different shades of beige trim paint. Part 2, separated with an actual door, contains the toilet, terrazzo tile (not awful, but can you say 50’s?), and a small walk-in shower with a very narrow door, very grungy and/or missing grout, and a low showerhead.

The final result is supposed to be NEW flooring throughout, a larger NEW shower with a bench and a larger door, a smaller but NEW vanity with a NEW larger sink, NEW wallpaper, and all fresh paint that matches. We don’t often do “new” on such a grand scale around here and I am both excited and apprehensive. I feel like we’re heading into a bit of a crapshoot, we haven’t picked out any of the new stuff but the old is being demolished as I type. Truly, there is no turning back now.

Yeah, I suppose we could’ve lived with the old for another 25 years, but I am looking forward to a vast improvement over this:

 

vanity

functional, but dated

bathroom

the rug is no worse than anything else, imho

the tile is white, not yellow, or it wouldn't have lasted this long

the tile is white, not yellow, or it wouldn’t have lasted this long

Better already?

demo

Maybe, maybe not. All I know is I need to get used to wrapping myself in a towel again for my dripping treks down the hallway.

4 thoughts on “Bathroom Refugee

  1. Congrats on finally getting started. Soon enough you’ll be wondering why you waited so long to tackle this project. Please post “after” photos.

    • I loved those fishes, too, but they have swum away to be replaced by flowers. And we’re not doing anything else to that bathroom until we have to (can you say leaky bathtub?)

Your thoughts?

