Caps On!

That’s the mantra being touted by MLB today to mark Opening Day and the official beginning of my very favorite season of the year, baseball season.

I haven’t figured out why today is officially opening day, but there were four games yesterday. There were actually five games yesterday, but the Cubs/Angels game was still a spring training game – tonight they play each other for real. ?!?

The beloved Astros were supposed to open against the Yankees in NY this afternoon, but the game was postponed ’til tomorrow because of weather. Conveniently, Day 2 of the season had been scheduled as an off day. ?!?

It’s a tad disconcerting that the beloved Astros and the formerly beloved Cubs are both “expected” to make it to the World Series this year. I, I, I just don’t know what to do with that kind of optimism to start the season. It all has me a bit uncertain as to what kind of offering/shrine I must put up to the baseball gods this year. I hung the Astros banner outside yesterday and I’ve been wearing  my Astros caps and t-shirts for a few days, but I’m waiting on a sign from the baseball gods as to what sort of sacrifice will be required this year.

I am so excited for next week’s home opener! GO ‘STROS!!!!

Your thoughts?

