Simple Pleasures #18

The bats have returned to the bat house on the pine tree! Sometime after 8 pm we hear them starting to chatter and move about, “I’m not going out yet, “You go first tonight,” “Stop fidgeting, you’re waking me up,” and then, 10-15 minutes later…phoosh-phoosh-phoosh…out stream 25-30 bats. The husband is more diligent about sitting on the patio and watching/counting them than I am. I’m waiting for them to make a dent in the backyard mosquito population.

FYI: A group of bats is called a colony, or sometimes a cloud, or I saw one quasi-reliable reference to a camp of bats. Personally, I like to refer to our small backyard population as our belfry of bats.

P.S. You still have a few days to tell me what to read, make me donate to a good cause, and threaten to make me clear out a bookshelf. I still need SEVEN tasks/books. Challenge me!

2 thoughts on “Simple Pleasures #18

    • I love Pat Conroy but I’ve never read Lords of Discipline. So happy to have an excuse to move it towards the top of my reading list! Thanks for the task.

Your thoughts?

