Corrections and Updates

First, a correction to last week’s post on Scars. The sister decided to correct my memory regarding my first, childhood scar. She wrote:

You were only about 2 because I was 4. You begged me to give you the jar to hold. I refused and you begged some more, threatening to cry, so I gave it to you. Within about 1 minute you started running with it, fell and cut your arm. I was mortified. There really was quite a bit of blood… I don’t think you cried…I think I was scared enough for both of us, so you weren’t particularly.

I wouldn’t necessarily believe HER, but the bit about me begging and threatening to cry sounded awfully realistic.

Second, an update to my crowd sourced reading challenge. Apparently it takes a crowd to crowd source something. Who knew?! So the whole idea was a half flop, but I did get the following seven terrific suggestions for what to read next.

  1. Read a book written by a friend.
  2. Read a book written under a pseudonym or where the author uses initials to obscure their gender.
  3. Read a book which an image of a bird on the cover.
  4. Read The Prize: The Epic Quest for Oil, Money, and Power.
  5. Read Revelation Space by Alastair Reynolds
  6. Read an inspiration. Choose something you’ve always wanted to do and then read a book about someone who does it.
  7. Read a novel by Pat Conroy. Lords of Discipline was specifically recommended.

So I do plan to take on this reading challenge, but without any consequences or sense of urgency since my goal of ten tasks was not reached.

Third, I failed on one of my own goals this week. I had challenged myself to do some amount of intentional fitness activity every day for a full year. 100 sit-ups was my go-to minimum if I didn’t do anything else on given day. Counting by weeks, the first try I made it into the 20’s. The second try I hit 32. Last week I had made it to week 44 but I totally forgot about doing anything on Saturday. PPFFTHPTH. I give. I need to come up with another fitness goal/motivation/accountability system…and not by crowd-sourcing it either.

Fourth, those of you who are ever in the same location as me will be pleased to learn that the doorbell sound that used to indicate the receipt of a text message on my phone has gone silent. No more annoying the granddogs, no more people getting up to see who is at the door, and no more people wondering why there is a door bell in a store, museum, park, car, etc.

Fifth, Disco Zoo for iphone. A cross between Zoo Tycoon and Tamagotchi (NanoPets). I steered clear of Farmville and Neko Atsume: Kitty Collector, but I downloaded this in a weak moment after a recommendation by D#2. I’d post more but I need to go wake up my animals now.

5 thoughts on “Corrections and Updates

    • Ah, but I’ve read Beach Music. I just never went back and read all his older ones after I discovered him via Prince of Tides. Two I’ve never read are Lords of Discipline and Great Santini. Great Santini is an all time favorite of one friend, but you suggested Lords of Discipline. Not that I can remember much about Beach Music, mind you.

Your thoughts?

