Dorrigo Evans, Hillary Clinton, and My Political Soul

In last Friday’s post about The Narrow Road to the Deep North, I applauded the author for being able to write about the soul, but lamented that I, as a reader, could not connect with the book. Dorrigo Evans, the central character of the book, was a man who had trouble connecting to his own soul. He loved books and words with a hunger, a need. He was admonished by lovers to use his own words instead of quoting others. He recited lines of poetry as if everything worthwhile had been already said; life went on, but it didn’t matter because it had all been written about already. Some characters coped with the horrors of WWII by forgetting, some by mis-remembering, but Dorrigo Evans just chose to find no meaning in his own life, there were words from the past that said all there was to say.

I grew up in a politically active family, not as elected officials, but as engaged and involved in the political process. I helped collate League of Women Voters newsletters around the dining room table and went door-to-door canvassing before I could vote. We watched political conventions as a family and election night results telecasts. And once old enough, I always voted. Voting is a good thing, I believe it is the best way to be involved, but still I feel like my mother would be a tad disappointed in me. I feel like I have become disconnected from my political soul. I don’t know how to cure this. I am tired of all the shouting and anger. I feel overwhelmed by the huge problems facing society and I don’t see any viable solutions. I think it will take compromise and steady, slow progress and I don’t hear any candidates at any level who sound like they are interested in that way of governing. Everything is negative, nothing is positive and I. am. tired. of. all. of. them.

So, like Dorrigo Evans, I turn to the words of others.

I heard this on NPR the other morning and just wanted to shout: THIS. (OK, maybe I did actually shout it.) For the full story, click here.

Why Some Hillary Clinton Supporters are Not “Really Ready To Go Public” by Tamara Keith

Hillary Clinton doesn’t have the biggest rallies. Her bumper stickers and campaign signs aren’t particularly visible. It seems her supporters are laying low. Here’s why.

It won’t be selling my soul to vote for Hillary; it might just be finding it.

2 thoughts on “Dorrigo Evans, Hillary Clinton, and My Political Soul

  1. Yup. I get it.
    The Hillary-Haters are so vehement, so FOAMING RABID, that reasoned dialogue isn’t possible or even probable … you just spend your time Dealing With The Hate instead of actually exchanging real thought on real positions.

Your thoughts?

