It begins again…

‘Twas a lovely long weekend at Chez Drott. We started the 4th of July weekend with fireworks after an Astros win on Friday night, and ended it quietly in the air-conditioning, hearing the occasional burst and boom followed by peacock protestations. One thing that made the weekend especially relaxing for me was that I had an unusually productive last week in June with regards to household chores. I didn’t have too many things nagging at me to get done over the weekend. Or maybe I was just unusually good at ignoring them. But now it’s another week and my to-do list is once again filled with all those things that need to be done over and over and over and over and over again.

Rather than actually start in on things, I decided to post a top-ten list of chores and the order that I most hate doing them. Not surprisingly, because there is always more to do than you first think, I came up with 11 things that must should could in a perfect world would be done at least weekly. From almost enjoyable to most vile, here is my list:

  1. Dealing with mail and paying bills
  2. Yard work
  3. Grocery shopping
  4. Vacuuming
  5. Laundry
  6. Washing dishes and cleaning the kitchen
  7. Cooking and meal prep
  8. Cleaning bathrooms
  9. Mopping floors
  10. Dusting
  11. Anything having to do with cars

I’m sure I’ve forgotten something. Please don’t bother to add anything else to my list; I can promise you that whatever it is, it doesn’t get done as often as it should.

Anyone want to trade a shopping list for a dust rag?

Your thoughts?

