This is your brain on life

The brain is the most amazingest part of the amazing human body. I became acquainted with my brain when I was born, but I still haven’t learned how it works or how to use it to anywhere near its full potential. Like most of our bodies, we mostly take it for granted. It took watching my father in the aftermath of a stroke to really start thinking about how amazing and complicated and fragile the brain is.

I don’t need to tell you about the huge impact medical science has had on all our lives, nor how the blend of scientific disciplines and their subsets – biology, chemistry, engineering, etc – has combined to save, improve, and protect human beings. And it’s a really good thing that I don’t need to tell you those things because the History and Accomplishments of Medical Science is a bit too large of a subject to tackle in this blog.

Matthew Inman, aka The Oatmeal, is a web-based cartoonist. I became acquainted with his site after I backed his successful kick-starter funded card game called Exploding Kittens. Generally his work is just a little too profane for my taste, but I follow him on twitter and check in at his website every once in a while because of pieces like this. I’m sure it’s been floating all around facebook and other social media locales that I don’t visit, but everyone should give it a read. So take time to click thru and check it out, if you haven’t already. It talks about how we listen, and how we react to certain things that we hear.

I plan to work at becoming a new kind of listener. Here’s hoping that the most politically partisan among us can listen harder, clearer, and better. And maybe learn to act, react, and speak with deliberation and not just instinctive reflex. If not, I plan to be part of a backfire effect that goes beyond the brain and into the ballot box.

The brain, medicine, … and web comics. Look out, science is coming at you from all directions.

Inman cites sources and references in and at the end of his comic. Later on twitter, he also linked to this article which gives another simple explanation on the psychology behind it.

2 thoughts on “This is your brain on life

Your thoughts?

