Starting somewhere

Sometimes I wish that I only had ONE hot button issue, one issue that commanded my full political and philanthropic support, but alas, there are many. I lament the absence of moderation, independence, and compromise in political arenas. It feels like for years, the issue pendulums have been pulled so far to one side or the other that there are never minor adjustments; they always swing way past center to another extreme. Yet there is one issue that may not be riding on a pendulum afterall; we may be pushing it to the breaking point, past the point of no return. That issue is climate change.

I believe it’s real. I believe humanity is a major cause. I believe that if humans don’t act soon to do what they can to halt the warming of the planet…  OK, I don’t really know what’s going to happen, but I don’t want my legacy to be that I didn’t care and didn’t do anything.

Every bit of information I’ve ever seen about what you can do as an individual to help the planet contains, usually at the top of the list, eat less meat. So last November, when I knew that political progress on climate change issues was going to grind to a halt, I chose to stop eating mammals. It’s not a protest, it’s not for the duration of the Trump presidency, it’s a lifestyle change.

It’s not enough, but it’s a start.

It is, however, also good for me.

Every bit of information I’ve ever seen about what you can do to improve your individual health thru your diet contains, usually at the top of the list, eat less meat. So as I struggle to keep my weight, blood pressure and cholesterol numbers in a healthy range, I made the lifestyle change to stop eating mammals.

It’s not enough, but it’s a start.

It is, however, also good for the mammals.

You may not care, but still it’s pretty hard to argue with that one.

I’m now six months into this. Global warming trends have not been reversed. Per capita beef consumption is not plummeting. I still need medication to keep bp and ldl numbers in the healthy range. I still “need” to lose 15 pounds. For the health of both the planet and myself I need to be even more selective in what I eat.

But it’s a start.

 

 

Your thoughts?

