First, we wonder

I’m not a space geek.

As I’ve written here on numerous occasions, I am a small-world person and there’s not much further away from my small world than outer space. I’m not the one who is prepared to argue, for or against, the merits of spending money and resources on space travel and exploration. Cost/benefit analyses make my head hurt. Why does an economist have the ultimate determination of something’s worth?

I’m looking forward to some star gazing under dark skies next week. While some will look up and imagine a future in the stars, I will look up and feel a pull to the past. I am fascinated by the story tellers of past cultures who named the constellations and invented reasons for the stars in the sky.  I marvel at the minds who looked up and were driven to understand the workings of our solar system.  It’s what humans have always done. First we wonder, and then we want to learn and explain why.

NASA has recently been releasing pictures of Jupiter taken by the Juno spacecraft. I may not be a space geek, but I would be happy with these photos hanging up as artwork all over my home.

Who could look at that picture and not wonder, and not want to understand what you are seeing? The picture gallery linked to above is only a small part of the NASA site on the Juno mission. A person could spend hours (and hours and hours) bopping around the NASA website learning way more that I, the non-space geek, have any desire to learn. But, wow, NASA does an incredible job trying to connect with people on the web. In my quick skim, here’s one thing that caught my eye in the mission overview:

In Greek and Roman mythology, Jupiter drew a veil of clouds around himself to hide his mischief. It was Jupiter’s wife, the goddess Juno, who was able to peer through the clouds and reveal Jupiter’s true nature. The Juno spacecraft will also look beneath the clouds to see what the planet is up to, not seeking signs of misbehavior, but helping us to understand the planet’s structure and history.

I love that NASA gives a nod to the story tellers of the past while operating in a future that would have been inconceivable to people even just 100 years ago.

Here’s a link to a short and readable National Geographic story summarizing some of the first scientific findings from Juno.

I’m not a space geek, but this is all pretty damn cool.

First, we wonder… but that is only step one. We are human, we always want to take step two.

Your thoughts?

